Font Size: AAA

Revolutionary Characters: What Made the Founders Different

On March 27, 2007, Pulitzer Prize winner Gordon Wood discussed his recent book, Revolutionary Characters: What Made the Founders Different, at a North Carolina History Project Headliner Luncheon. He emphasized the Founders' character and spoke at length about George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, Alexander Hamilton, Thomas Paine, and Aaron Burr.  Wood stressed, in particular, that the Founders, although great men, were products of a particular time and place.  They comprised a unique generation because they balanced the democratic values of liberty and equality with the aristocratic values of nobility and refinement.

Videos showing an interview with Wood before his North Carolina History Project lecture can be accessed via the links below: 

Why we care about the Founders

The Founders' definition of character

The impact of egalitarian democracy on future generations

The Founders' continuing relevance

George Washington  

Thomas Jefferson

James Madison

Alexander Hamilton

Thomas Paine

Aaron Burr

The entire lecture can be viewed here

See Also:

Related Categories: Political History, Early America, Revolution Era
Related Encyclopedia Entries: Arthur Dobbs (1689-1765), Edward Vail (1717-1777), Edenton Tea Party, Bunker Hill Covered Bridge, Carteret County (1722), Robert Howe (1732-1786), Republicanism, William Hooper (1742-1790), Watauga Association, Cross Creek, William Richardson Davie (1756-1820), Alfred Moore (1755-1810), Principles of an American Whig, Stamp Tax Protests (Wilmington), Sons of Liberty, Non-Importation Movement, Merchants Committees of Inspection, The Justice and Policy of Taxing the American Colonies in Great Britain Considered, Provincial Convention (1775), Tories, John Alexander Lillington (c.1725-1786), Richard Dobbs Spaight (1758-1802), Archibald Maclaine (1728-1790), The Great Seal of the State of North Carolina, Philip Alston, John Penn (1741-1788), The Test, Port Act, Cornelius Harnett, Thomas Burke (1747-1783), David Fanning (1755-1825), William Richardson Davie (1756-1820), Polk County (1855), Lincoln County (1779), Gaston County (1846), Randolph County (1779), Edgecombe County (1741), Guilford County (1771), Battle of Guilford Court House, Chowan County (1681), Pamlico County (1872), Nash County (1777), Battle at the Mouth of Sandy Creek, Battle of Plymouth (1864), Granville County (1746), Battle of Moore's Creek Bridge, Rutherford's Campaign, Royal Governor William Tryon (1729 - 1788), Tryon Palace, Royal Governor Josiah Martin (1737 - 1786), Battle of Cowan’s Ford (February 1, 1781), The Battle of Ramsour’s Mill (June 20, 1780), Anti-Federalism, Willie Jones (1741-1801), Timothy Bloodworth (1736-1814), Thomas Ruffin (1787-1870), Gabriel Holmes (1769-1829), William Henry Hill (1767-1808), Federalist Party, Francis Oliver (1740-1808), William Blount (1749-1800), James Iredell, Sr. (1751-1799), Hillsborough Convention of 1788, Hugh Williamson (1735-1819), Ratification Debates, An Address to the Freemen of North Carolina (Publicola), A Speech at Edenton, Person County (1792), Jones County (1779)
Related Commentary: Edenton Tea Party: An American First, When Wilmington Threw A Tea Party: Women and Political Awareness in Revolution-Era North Carolina, 1771 Alamance: The First Battle of Our American Revolution, Defending Liberty From The Bench, Defending Liberty From the Bench, A Duel to End All Duels: Richard Dobbs Spaight Vs. John Stanly

Timeline: 1664-1775 , 1776-1835

© 2016 John Locke Foundation | 200 West Morgan St., Raleigh, NC 27601, Voice: (919) 828-3876
Website design & development by DesignHammer Media Group, LLC. Building Smarter Websites.